How Many Books Did You Read This Year?

Long before I was a librarian, I was an avid reader.  I think the two go hand-in-hand because most librarians I know are also avid readers.  Years ago, I began keeping a list of all the books I read in any given year, and I continue to do so until this day.  It’s easier than ever to keep track of what I’ve read because every time I check out a book from the Library, the title and the date are recorded in “My Account” under “Reading History” on the Library’s computer system.

If you haven’t turned on this nifty little feature in your library account, you really should give it a try.  The Library’s computer system will retain the list for an indefinite period of time, so you can always look back to see what you’ve read in past years, too.

I often us the “Reading History” feature when someone asks me for a good book to read.  I simply browse the list to jog my somewhat unreliable memory to recommend a great story, and since I am an eclectic reader, there is usually “something for everybody” on my list.

So, how many books did I read this year?  Remember that I listen to books, read them by turning pages, and also read eBooks on my Nook, so I am usually reading at least 3 books at a time.  In 2011, I completed 102 books!  Whew!  That’s a lot of reading. But then again, it’s one of my favorite past times.  Guess that’s why I’m a librarian.

  1. #1 by dawn on December 29, 2011 - 2:15 pm

    I’m on book 42, not counting children’s books, books I didn’t finish, or a couple of our read-alouds. I’m really pleased by that number … an all-time high. I’m going to do a Susan Howatch reading challenge and may pick some Madeleine L’Engle books too for 2012.

    Happy Reading 🙂

  2. #2 by Nancy Joy Boone on December 29, 2011 - 4:52 pm

    I keep track of my reading on Goodreads.com. My current count for the year is 103. That does include children’s picture books that I read as a mother and as a school librarian, although the bulk of my reading is YA novels. 🙂

    • #3 by dcdldirector on December 29, 2011 - 8:15 pm

      We librarians do love to read, don’t we!

Leave a Reply

