Looking for a good book to read…

Let me confess again…I am an AVID reader.  I turn pages in books, I listen to books, I read books on my NOOK and iPad. I subscribe to several magazines, newspapers, blogs, and RSS feeds.   I am the kid who read the back of the cereal box, TV Guide, and whatever else I could get my hands on.

It is typical for me to have 3-4 books going simultaneously, and I truly cannot fall asleep without reading at bedtime. I have been reading with pleasure and enthusiasm ever since I can remember, starting with “Dick and Jane” primers (anyone remember those?) to Bobbsey Twins to Little House on the Prairie to Nancy Drew to the “grownup” books that I read now.  I read fiction and nonfiction, adult and young adult, in practically any genre.  The only type of book that I don’t usually gravitate to is science fiction/fantasy.  While I have read Piers Anthony and Douglas Adams and Robert Heinlein, my tastes these days run to more character-based novels.  Some of my favorite authors are Anne Tyler, Alice Hoffman, David Baldacci, Anita Shreve, Ann Patchett, Stephen King, John Grisham, Sue Monk Kidd, just to name a few.

Working in a library, surrounded by books and knowledgeable librarians, I am never at a loss to find something good to read.  I am delighted when a library patron and friend pops his or her head into my office and starts off with, “Have you read…?”  I know that we are going to have a lively discussion about books, and I also know that I am going to learn about another book that I want to read.

I thought that this blog would be another wonderful way for us to share titles of books we have read and recommend.  I am inviting you to comment to this post with the title of a good book, and your impression of it.  Your comments can be as long or as short as you would like.

So, if you’ve read a good book lately, or you have long time favorites, please take this opportunity to share them with the readers of this blog.  I think we will all find something new and exciting to read next!

  1. #1 by Pam Benjamin on January 12, 2012 - 3:56 pm

    Anything by Bill Bryson and most books by David Sedaris.

  2. #2 by dawn on January 12, 2012 - 3:59 pm

    Barbara Pym, Madeleine L’Engle are two favorites who write character-driven novels. I read Excellent Women by Pym last year and really enjoyed it.

    Also, I’m planning on a Susan Howatch re-read year … her Starbridge and St Benet’s series and the longer epic stories are fantastic.

  3. #3 by Kay on January 12, 2012 - 5:00 pm

    I also like Madeleine L’Engle. Eight Cousins by Louisa May Alcott is one of my all-time favorites, and it was a great read aloud with my 10 yo daughter last fall. The Secret of the Rose series by Michael Phillips is also a good read. I enjoyed the Circle Trilogy by Dekker last fall, though fantasy/sci-fi is a genre I don’t generally tend to choose. Recently, I’ve been focusing on an assortment of juvenile, young adult, and adult historical fiction taking place during WWII to go along with a Lit Unit I’ve been working on with a group of middle school students.

  4. #4 by Connie on January 12, 2012 - 8:29 pm

    Barbara Kingsolver is one of my favorite authors. She has many wonderful books; two of my favorites are High Tide in Tucson and Prodigal Summer.

  5. #5 by Jan Horrocks on January 13, 2012 - 3:17 pm

    MaryJane, I’m looking forward to reading “The World We Found”. About friendship between four Indian women. I am a big reader also. Your interests are alot like mine, “Poisonwood Bible” is one my favs!

  6. #6 by Jan Curtis on January 13, 2012 - 4:06 pm

    Have you discovered Patrick Taylor and his Irish Country Doctor series? Those books are to die for.

  7. #7 by Mrs. Don Triskett (Barbara) on January 13, 2012 - 7:39 pm

    I just love Pat Conroy.Just saw Water is Wide on TV..and am now enjoying reading the book again.

  8. #8 by Julie Means on January 18, 2012 - 5:37 pm

    A Tree grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith….timeless! Julie M.

  9. #9 by Barbara on January 19, 2012 - 2:16 am

    One of my recent favorites is The Paris Wife by Paula Mc Lain.
    I also liked The Immortal Life of Henrietta Life by Rebecca Skloot.
    New York by Edward Rutherford has been a 862-page saga and I’m just about finished and it’s been well-worth the effort,
    I am about to start Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand by Helen Simonson which is the February book for my Upper Arlington Book Club.
    Finally, a book that has been highly recommended by my fellow ESL teachers is The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. Has.anyone read it?

    • #10 by dcdldirector on February 16, 2012 - 9:04 pm

      Sounds as if you and I have similar tastes in Books, Barb!

  10. #11 by dawn on January 19, 2012 - 1:08 pm

    Everyone but me loves The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. I will agree that the actual writing is good, I just didn’t care for some of their characterizations.

Leave a Reply

